One week away from Easter…are you ready?

imageIt’s a busy time around our house right now.  It’s always been a tradition in my family to prepare well in advance for the “big day” , велйкдень.  We’ve been writing the pysanky, making the paska and I have even started baking some of the delicious Easter foods.

imageToday I am making Nalysnyky and I have attached a few photos.  These are savory, made with cottage cheese.  Check out my recipe on my pages and see all of the step by step photos!

As you know,  I am taking Ukrainian language lessons.  It’s been so much fun and I am learning a lot.  My classmates are a great bunch and many of them are from Manitoba and Saskatchewan.  It’s interesting to hear the different words that we grew up with.  For instance, here’s an example.  The Ukrainian word for car is машена.  Так ?  Well when we heard our instructor say this…we all looked at each other and said, “isn’t it гара (gara?).  So many different dialects!

I still have a lot to learn.  I need to work on possessives, plurals and conjugating my verbs….but truth be told, I actually understand more than I give myself credit for.  Now if I can only get my tongue twisted around some of those letters and their sounds!

image

In class tomorrow, we will be having a pot luck and I will bring in some baking as well as the nalysnyky.  I have made some dove buns!  I hope someone brings some good old-fashioned kolbassa!

image

4 thoughts on “One week away from Easter…are you ready?

  1. I am enjoying your blog. Your experiences are very similar to mine. You might enjoy one of my posts on my blog which focuses on making head cheese or studenetz and the humorous outcome.

    Like

    • Христос воскрес!
      Thank you for checking out my blog. Yes, I agree that sometimes “keeping the lid on” is the best way to cook. I love studenetz but my family have a hard time seeing it cook on the stove!

      Like

  2. Hello I’m from Manitoba and I love your blog. I see your perfect Dove buns and I was wondering if you would share the recipe? I’ve been working to learn to make Ukrainian breads but I’ve come to it later in my life and with out a Baba to ask for help with learning. I made some dove buns from an offline recipe and the results were pretty hilarious. If you want to see you can visit my blog… but if you are willing to share how you make yours I would be very honored. I haven’t had much luck tracking down a successful recipe. http://easterbasketadventure.blogspot.ca/2014_03_01_archive.html

    Like

    • Hello there,
      Thank you for checking out my blog. My procedure for the Easter doves is pretty much the same method that I see you are using when I looked at your pictures on your blog. May I suggest you take a look at your dough recipe? I use a heavier Kolach dough. It rolls out and rises differently than a soft bread dough. I have a recipe posted under Traditional recipes. Good luck and let me know how it turns out.
      Petrosha

      Like

Leave a Reply

